Attorney Services for Drug Possession in Salt Lake City
Possession of illegal drugs in Salt Lake City and throughout Utah is a serious crime with harsh punishments. Our state's prosecutorial system related to drug possession crimes can make it particularly difficult to prevail if charges for possession of a controlled substance are filed against you.
Marijuana Possession and Utah Law
Some states have decriminalized marijuana possession, but Utah is not one of them. Regardless of whether you have a medical prescription from another state, you can be charged with criminal possession any time you have marijuana or related substances on your person or property, and you might even be charged with stamp taxes on top of other fines and penalties.
If you have been charged, it is important to know your rights and contact a qualified criminal attorney right away. Be polite with officers, but don't answer their questions. Instead, say things such as "I understand" and ask them questions, such as "why did you pull me over," and "why do you suspect me." If you are arrested, pay careful attention to each step of the process and ask for your right to consult with an attorney.
Marijuana possession crimes differ based on the amount of marijuana officers find and other factors, such as whether you have been convicted before, whether the alleged crime took place in a protected zone and whether the alleged offense included dealings with a minor.
Utah Law Indicates the Following Charges and Penalties:
For up to one ounce of marijuana, you may be charged with a class B misdemeanor. Penalties can include up to six months in jail, fines up to $1,940 and required mental health assessments.
For possession of between one ounce and one pound, penalties may include up to one year in jail, required assessments and finds up to $4,790. This would be a class A misdemeanor.
For possession of up to 100 pounds, you could be charged with a third-degree felony and sentenced with up to five years in prison and up to $9,540 in fines.
For possession of more than 100 pounds, you could be charged with a second-degree felony and penalized with up to 15 years in prison, up to $19,040 in fines and be required to take an assessment.
Possession of Other Controlled Substances in Salt Lake City
Marijuana is a Schedule I drug, making it subject to the above penalties. Other Schedule I drugs include LSD, ecstasy or MDMA, methaqualone or peyote. Charges for these drugs vary according to Utah Law (Title 58 Chapter 37 Section 8).
Depending on the severity of your charges, your case might begin in local justice courts or in Utah district courts. In the worst-case scenario, federal charges could also be filed.
Schedule II drugs may be legal to possess for medical reasons, but unauthorized possession and distribution is a crime. These drugs include hydrocodone pain pills, cocaine, methamphetamine, Adderall and Ritalin.
Schedule III drugs include codeine, ketamine, anabolic steroids and testosterone. Schedule IV drugs include Xanax, Soma, Valium Ativan, Ambien and Tramadol.
Protect Your Rights
Whether or not you think you were guilty in relation to drug possession charges in Salt Lake City, it's vital to contact an experienced attorney as soon as possible. Our Lawyer, Abby Dizon-Maughan, will look over the details of your case related to probable cause, arrest, search and seizure protocols and more. This may be the most important time in your life to take advantage of your constitutional rights.
Contact my offices online or call at 385-202-0145 to get started.